Harry Smith Triumphs in Challenging Alresford 10K, Sets Spectacular Record Time

A hot and humid day, plus the hilliest 10k in Hampshire, made for a challenging race on the picturesque minor roads that formed the Alresford 10K.

Harry Smith won the race in a spectacular and scarcely-believable time 32 minutes and 32 seconds..

The full list of CoSARC finishers were: Harry Smith 32:32; Matthew Gervais 37:47; Shaun Murray-Brown 38:00; Reece Ingram 38:14; Dave Gervais 39:53; Charlotte Ingram 41:06 (who came first in the V40 category); Craig Weatherburn 41:21; Kieran McManus 46:01; Edward Cane 48:22; Nick Lay 48:24; Oli Walter 52:59; Vicky Pearce 53:20; Andy Makin 56:47; and Michael O’Connell 1:25:56.

Alresford was the 11th race of this year’s Hampshire Road Race League, with one more to go at Lordshill
The Copythorne Carnival Run is a closed road race consisting of either a 1x5k lap, or 2x5k laps. The tree-lined route in the New Forest afforded the runners with much-welcomed shade for the greater part.

Many locals supported and even sprayed the runners with hose pipes, which was a blessed relief for them.
CoSARC participants in the 5k: Stanley Stuart 24.54; Esme White 20.26 (2nd female).

While taking part in the 10k: Freddie Bosworth 39.42; Art Mitchell 39.43; Pete Stuart 48.03; Steven Mitchell 48.05; and Milly Rayner 50.48.

At Salisbury Parkrun, James Gabriel was first finisher and set a new PB of 17:57. PBs were also earned by another junior, George Sutton, with a time of 19:40, and Vicky Wiseman with 20:33.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *