How MPs voted – or not – on the Privileges Committee report into Boris Johnson

MPs – including John Glen (Con, Salisbury) – largely abstained from a vote over a report that found Boris Johnson has mislead parliament over his Partygate denials.

The House of Commons Privileges Committee found Mr Johnson, during his time as prime minister, had mislead MPs repeatedly when assuring them Covid rules had been followed in Downing Street ‘at all times’ during the pandemic.

A vote last night (June 19) saw MPs overwhelmingly back the report – and its recommendation of a 90-day suspension and withdrawal of a parliamentary pass for Mr Johnson after his resignation.

A total of 354 endorsed the report, while just seven opposed.

However, no vote was recorded for 225 MPs, who abstained or were absent.

Among them was Simon Hoare (Con, North Dorset), who clarified he was absent due to a family illness and had been ‘paired’.

He said: “I’ve read the Privileges (Committee) Report on Mr Johnson. I agree (with) its findings and outcomes.

“The Commons would do well to support the report. Unfortunately, due to a family illness, I’m not in Parliament and am ‘paired’.

“Had I been in, I would support the report, as I did with Paterson.”

No votes were also recorded for Chris Loder (Con, West Dorset), Richard Drax (Con, South Dorset), Michael Tomlinson (Con, Mid Dorset and North Poole) and Mr Glen.

Dr Andrew Murrison (Con, South West Wiltshire) backed the report.

David Warburton (Ind, Somerton and Frome), was listed as not voting, although he announced his resignation from parliament at the weekend.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *